Local Candidates File For Election

Total Views : 875
Zoom In Zoom Out Read Later Print

The filing deadline passed Monday, December 13 at 6:00pm. Several contested races include the County Judge and three Justice of the Peace seats.

According to the Texas Secretary of State, Judge Michael Davis will run unopposed in 2022 to retain his seat as the 369th Judicial District Judge. 

Instanews Cherokee County spoke with Cherokee County Republican Chair John Earle about the filings in the upcoming Republican Texas Primary for 2022. Earle stated that there are several county offices being contested.

Incumbent County Judge Chris Davis is being challenged by Dean Dublin. All Justice of the Peace places are up for re-election. Precinct 1 Judge Brenda Dominy did not draw an opponent and therefore will retain her position until 2027.

In Justice of the Peace Precinct 2, Tony Johnson did not file to run for re-election.  That office is being sought by Amber Hood, Don McCormack and Michael Goff.

Precinct 3 Judge Phillip Grimes is being challenged by Al Chivera.

Precinct 4 Judge Rodney Wallace is being challenged by Joey Ray.

Other contested places are Precinct Chairs for the following precincts:

Josie Schoolcraft
Vicki Beard

Tammy Brogdon
Jefferson Jackson

Dick Burch
Janet Stanavich

No Democrats have filed for any seats.

See More

Latest Photos